Awards, Honors & AppointmentsAwards, Honors & Appointments
September 22, 1999

Media Contact: Karen Gajewski, (858) 822-3353or


Three Civis Universitatis awards recognizing significant volunteer and donor support of the University of California, San Diego will be presented by the UC San Diego Foundation during the Annual Dinner meeting September 24 at University House.

Honorees this year include Jerome S. Katzin, Outstanding Trustee; Sam and Rose Stein, Individual Contributor; and The Walton Family Foundation, Foundation / Institutional Supporter. UCSD Chancellor Robert C. Dynes and Foundation Chair William Beamer will present the awards.

Katzin will be honored as "an energetic ambassador of good will, who has tirelessly taken the University's message to the community." Katzin has had an immense impact on the growth of UCSD and exemplifies leadership and vigor in pursuit of the university's goals. The Katzin Chair of Jewish Civilization in the Judaic Studies Program is just one example of his contributions to UCSD.

Sam and Rose Stein will be recognized for their "vision, generosity of spirit and dedication to the advancement of science." Their contributions to the campus have included the establishment of Stein Institute for Research on Aging and the Stein Clinical Research building. They have supported programs fostering the discovery of new scientific knowledge, as well as training future generations of researchers and physicians, and delivering patient care for the San Diego community. 

The Walton Family Foundation's long-standing support will be honored for making it possible for the university to "expand programs for, and improve treatment of, cancer patients." The Walton Family Foundation also demonstrated leadership and support for The Preuss School. 

Their generosity will help ensure that San Diego's promising young scholars have the opportunity to reach their academic potential.

The name, Civis Universitatis, meaning "citizen of the university," derives from ancient times when universities actually were small, distinct communities isolated from towns. Citizenship in the universities was highly valued and was achievable only after long years of scholarship. By bestowing the award, the University signifies that it is inducting the recipients into the UCSD family.

The Civis Universitatis awards were bestowed by the Foundation for the first time in 1993. Past recipients of the Outstanding Trustee awards were presented to Jim DeSilva, Monroe Trout, Joe Hibben, Richard Levi, Maurice Kaplan and Herbert Kunzel. Individual Contributor awards have gone to Cecil Green, Martin Gleich, the Scripps Family, Ellen Revelle Eckis, Theodore Gildred and Marianne McDonald. Previous Foundation/Institution honorees were SAIC, Vetlesen Foundation, UCSD Medical Center Auxiliary, ARCS Foundation, Weingart Foundation and Powell Foundation. In addition, Bruce Darling, Marjorie Caserio, and Richard and Rita Atkinson have received Special Awards from the Foundation.