University of California, San Diego
Admissions Colleges Computing Departments Events Jobs Libraries Research
News Imagemap

Visitors & Friends > News > Releases > Awards > Article

News Releases

September 20, 2001

Media Contact: Jan Jennings (858) 822-1684 


Anthony Davis, Rand Steiger and Bertram Turetzky, professors of music at the University of California, San Diego, have been selected as recipients of the 2001-2002 American Society of Composers, Authors and Publishers (ASCAP) Awards.

The ASCAP Awards are granted each year by an independent panel of music educators, directors and performers to a select group of musicians from throughout the country. They are based on two criteria: the unique prestige value of each writer’s catalog of original compositions, and recent performances of those works.

Pianist, improviser and composer, Davis joined the UCSD Department of Music faculty in 1998 as a member of its Critical Studies and Experimental Practices (CSEP) program. He is active in operatic, symphonic, choral, chamber, dance, theatre and improvised music; has composed four operas, and numerous works for chamber ensembles, orchestras and Broadway productions.

Steiger has composed for theatre, dance, film, video, and the concert hall. He co-founded the California E.A.R. Unit, a contemporary music ensemble in residence at the Los Angeles County Museum of Art, and he has designed electronic music studios and developed software for a computer music system.

Steiger has been on the UCSD faculty since 1988 and regularly conducts SONOR, the university’s contemporary music ensemble.

Turetzky is a world-renowned solo performer on the contrabass, credited with raising the status of the contrabass from mere accompanist in an orchestra to a solo instrument in its own right, and hailed as a virtuoso of a caliber unsurpassed by any other contrabass practitioner.

A faculty member since 1968, Turetzky performs jazz, a traditional classical repertoire, and contemporary music of all types, including avant-garde.

The ASCAP awards to Davis, Steiger and Turetzky reflect, according to ASCAP president Marilyn Bergman, the New York-based society’s “continuing commitment to assist and encourage writers of serious music” and to join educational institutions “in supporting the growth and development of our nation’s musical future.”

In addition to the pat on the back for their achievements, ASCAP Award recipients receive seed money for research and development.

Copyright ©2001 Regents of the University of California. All rights reserved.
Last modifed

UCSD Official web page of the University of California, San Diego