Calit2 Director Appointed to California
Broadband Task Force by Governor

December 1, 2006

By Doug Ramsey

UCSD computer scientist Larry Smarr directs the California Institute for Telecommunications and Information Technology.

Gov. Arnold Schwarzenegger has appointed Larry Smarr, director of the California Institute for Telecommunications and Information Technology (Calit2), to a newly-created, 21-member Broadband Task Force.

The bipartisan Broadband Task Force brings together public and private stakeholders to remove barriers to broadband access, identify opportunities for increased broadband adoption and enable the creation and deployment of new advanced communication technologies.  In October, the Governor signed an Executive Order to clear the government red tape for expanding broadband networks and to create the Broadband Task Force, which was expanded to 21 members earlier this month.

"California is No. 1 in so many different things, whether it is biotechnology, stem cell research, protecting our environment, creating jobs or our university system. The Golden State must remain competitive in the telecommunication revolution so that we can continue to attract the best, the brightest and the most creative workforce in the world," said Gov. Schwarzenegger. "Broadband will help build California so we can grow our economy, create great jobs and stay ahead in the global marketplace."

Calit2's Smarr, 58, has served as director of Calit2 and a professor of computer science and engineering in UCSD's Jacobs School of Engineering since 2000, after 15 years as director of the National Center for Supercomputing Applications at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign. He is one of five San Diego-based members appointed to the task force. The others are: Cox Cable general manager William Geppert; Paul Hernandez, director of community development for the Metropolitan Area Advisory Committee Project; California State Senator Christine Kehoe; and Peter Pardee, vice president of business development at Hughes Network Systems and a member of the board of directors of CommNexus San Diego.

Another Calit2 participant was also named to the panel: Debra Richardson, 52, is the Ted and Janice Smith Dean of the Donald Bren School of Information and Computer Sciences at UC Irvine (UCSD’s partner in Calit2).  Fourteen other nominees to the Broadband Task Force included: Ellis Berns, Rachelle Chong, Charles Giancarlo, William Huber, Wendy Lazarus, Lloyd Levine, Michael Liang, Bryan Martin, Timothy McCallion, Sunne Wright McPeak, Milo Medin, Peter Pennekamp, Rollin Richmond, Emy Tseng and Jonathan Taplin. Taplin is a participant in Calit2's CineGrid project, and has served as an adjunct professor at the Annenberg School for Communications at the University of Southern California. He is also chairman and chief executive officer of Intertainer Inc., and is a member of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences.

For biographies of all 21 members appointed to the Broadband Task Force today, go to Governor Schwarzenegger's news release at .

Media Contact: Doug Ramsey, 858-822-5825

UCSD Home Page | External Relations Departments

E-mail for any comments regarding this webpage. Updated daily by University Communications Office
Copyright 2006 Regents of the University of California. All rights reserved.

University of California, San Diego, 9500 Gilman Dr., La Jolla, CA 92093 (858) 534-2230