UCSD Logo UCSD Logo For Printing
Social Bookmarks

Seven Young Faculty Members Receive $50,000 Sloan Research Fellowships

February 15, 2011

The Alfred P. Sloan Foundation has awarded research fellowships to seven young faculty members at the University of California, San Diego, the largest group from a single institution to be recognized this year.

Fellows are nominated by their peers and selected by an independent panel of senior scholars. They receive two-year, $50,000 grants to pursue any line of research they choose.

The new fellows from UC San Diego are:

Jennifer Cha, Department of NanoEngineering, Jacobs School of Engineering

Joshua Figueroa, Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry, Division of Physical Sciences

Takaki Komiyama, Department of Neurosciences, School of Medicine and Neurobiology Section, Division of Biological Sciences

Gert Lanckriet – Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering, Jacobs School of Engineering

Dragos Oprea – Department of Mathematics, Division of Physical Sciences

Leor Wienberger – Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry, Division of Physical Sciences

Gene Yeo – Department of Cellular and Molecular Medicine, School of Medicine
“The scientists and researchers selected for this year’s Sloan Research Fellowships represent the very brightest stars of this generation of scholars,” said Paul L. Joskow, President of the Alfred P. Sloan Foundation in a statement.

“The Foundation is proud to be able to support their work at this important stage in their careers.”

The seven from UC San Diego are among 118 new fellows, the foundation announced today.


Media Contact:
Division of Physical Sciences:
Susan Brown, scinews@ucsd.edu  or (858) 246-0161

Jacobs School of Engineering:
Daniel Kane, dbkane@ucsd.edu or (858)534-3262

School of Medicine:
Debra Kain, ddkain@ucsd.edu or (619) 543-6163

Terms and Conditions of Use