UCSD Logo For Printing UCSD Logo
Related Links
Social Bookmarks

2008 Nobel Prize in Chemistry Shared
by UC San Diego Researcher Roger Tsien
University of California, San Diego Professor Roger Tsien, Ph.D., will share the 2008 Nobel Prize in Chemistry with Osamu Shimomura of the Marine Biological Laboratory in Woods Hole and Boston University School of Medicine, and Martin Chalfie of Columbia University in New York. The scientists are being honored for the discovery of Green Fluorescent Protein (GFP) and seminal work to design and create fluorescent molecules that enter cells and light up their inner workings.

Announcing the prize in Stockholm, Sweden today, the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences said: “This year's Nobel Prize in Chemistry rewards the initial discovery of GFP and a series of important developments which have led to its use as a tagging tool in bioscience. By using DNA technology, researchers can now connect GFP to other interesting, but otherwise invisible, proteins. This glowing marker allows them to watch the movements, positions and interactions of the tagged proteins. More >

Photo of Roger Tsien
Click here to view a slideshow of Prof. Roger Tsien's first day as a Nobel laureate.

Click here for more images and captions.

Education: B.S., chemistry and physics, Harvard College
Ph.D., physiology, University of Cambridge, England


Professor of Pharmacology, UC San Diego School of Medicine

Professor of Chemistry and Biochemistry, UC San Diego

Howard Hughes Medical Institute Investigator (1989 -

Memberships: National Academy of Sciences

Institute of Medicine

European Molecular Biology Organization


Wolf Prize in Medicine

Gairdner Foundation International Award

American Chemical Society Award for Creative Invention

Lewis S. Rosenstiel Award for Distinguished Work in Basic Medical Science

Heineken Prize for Biochemistry and Biophysics, Royal Netherlands Academy of Sciences

Keio Medical Science Prize, Keio University, Japan

Panel on Climate Change

Nobel Peace Prize

Clive W.J. Granger
Nobel Prize in Economics

Robert F. Engle
Nobel Prize in Economic Sciences

Sydney Brenner
Nobel Prize in Physiology and Medicine

Mario Molina
Nobel Prize in Chemistry

Harry Markowitz
Nobel Prize in Economic Sciences


Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine

George Palade
Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine


Terms and Conditions of Use