Visitors & Friends > UCSD News > Releases > Science & Engineering

May 6, 2004

American Academy of Arts and Sciences
Elects Three UCSD Professors as Fellows

By Kim McDonald

Ted J. Case

Three professors at the University of California, San Diego have been elected fellows of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, one of the highest honors bestowed on individuals in academe, business, the arts and public affairs

Ted J. Case, professor of biology; Scott David Emr, professor of cellular and molecular medicine and Howard Hughes Medical Institute investigator; and Nolan R. Wallach, professor of mathematics, were among the 178 new fellows and 24 new foreign honorary members elected this spring to the Cambridge, Mass. academy.

"I am honored to welcome these outstanding and influential individuals to the nation's oldest and most illustrious learned society," said Patricia Meyer Spacks, president of the academy. "These new members have made extraordinary contributions to their fields and disciplines through their commitment to the advancement of scholarly and creative work in every field and profession."

Nolan R. Wallach
The Academy was founded in 1780 by John Adams, James Bowdoin, John Hancock and other scholar-patriots "to cultivate every art and science which may tend to advance the interest, honor, dignity, and happiness of a free, independent, and virtuous people."

Scott David Emr


The unique structure of the academy allows it to conduct interdisciplinary studies on international security, social policy, education and the humanities that draw on the range of academic and intellectual disciplines of its members. Its current membership of over 4,500 includes more than 150 Nobel laureates and 50 Pulitzer Prize winners. Former members include George Washington, Ben Franklin, Daniel Webster, Ralph Waldo Emerson, Albert Einstein and Winston Churchill.

Media Contact: Kim McDonald, (858) 534-7572



Print this story
Email this story

E-ma E-mail Janet Howard for any comments regarding this webpage. Updated daily by University Communications Office
Copyright ©2001 Regents of the University of California. All rights reserved.

UCSD Official web page of the University of California, San Diego